Come walk the Redwoods of Muir Woods
$75.00 all inclusive Muir Woods Tour
Tom Martell's Muir Woods Tours
line decor
   | For Information or Reservations Phone: (415) 264-6235 Call (415) 264-6235 for Reservations | Click Here To Send An Email
line decor
 

 
 
TOUR REVIEWS & TESTIMONIALS

May 1st., 2014
"Hey Tom :)

Thank you so much for your thought provoking, INSPIRING tour :)

It has had a deep impact on my mind and has really added more "structure" to wayward thoughts I was having about the things I was seeing...

Breath Easy,
Christopher Sritharan.
UK"


April 9th., 2014
"Hi Tom & Justin,

Thank you!

We are writing to let you know that we thoroughly enjoyed the Muir Woods walking tour from start to finish. Justin more than met our expectations as his patience and presentation created a relaxed environment I sense we all appreciated. We are grateful that both of you want to share your knowledge, because your passion and enthusiasm made this portion of time in San Francisco the highlight of our touring. Again, thank you so much for providing this learning experience for us.

Sincerely,
Susan and Don F.
Floral City, Florida"


September 9th., 2013
"Hello Tom,

I wanted to send these photos along... You did not disappoint any one of us. I hope to see you again on another tour. And I would appreciate to hear from you as we all want to know how you are doing. It was a trip I shall always remember.

With kindest regards.

Liesel Bennett
Chicago, IL

P.S. Your jackeet kept me warm "


August 2nd., 2013
"Hi Tom!

Just wanted to thank you for a great experience last Friday. My daughter and I loved all aspects of the tour of Muir Woods. Not only were you informative, professional, fun, witty and very experienced, but you made everyone feel part of the tour. We will return someday, with a new love for Muir Woods, you are the BEST!

Just wrote a Trip Advisor review also, gave you 5 stars!
Sincerely, Rosanne and Michelle M
"



"Dear Tom,

I am just back home in Frankfurt - with my Umbrella! Once again many thanks for returning it, that was great service. As they say in the song, when I went to San Francisco, I really met some gentle people there!

Sincerely, yours

."



"The Muir Woods walking tour with Tom is a great outing... He picked us up at our hotel at 7:30 and this is good, believe me! When we left the park hours later, it was bumper to bumper coming to the park. SO much nicer roaming the woods with only a few humans around....it is a place to be heard as well as seen... we walked in pristine quiet, only the rustling of the trees and it was enchanting. A nice picnic lunch with the three other people on the tour, and Tom is a wonderful guide -- really knowledgeable (about the woods and also the whole fabulous city) -- even better, funny and entertaining; he is also world travelled so has some great tales to tell. I feel sure this tour tops any one of the more mainstream ones... this is a personalized adventure. Go for it!

."

Posted at


January 2nd, 2013
"Hi Tom,
We are back home in the cold Montana city of Bigfork. (20°F w/a skiff of snow) I just want to tell you that we really enjoyed our walk with you in the Muir woods on the 27th. We had a great time in San Francisco, and our time in the Muir Woods will be one of our better memories. On the 29th we were fortunate enough to go for a ride with my nephew to some more places on the Marin Headlands... There were some great vistas up there.

I hope you have a successful 2013, and thanks again for the tour.

Edd & Janet B..."


October 18, 2012
"We toured with Tom this past July (2012). What a Fantastic tour! Tom was so knowledgeable and pleasant. Would recommend this tour for anyone who is visiting the San Francisco area!! :)

Webmaster note: floridagirl722 left this comment on our YouTube video page! Thanks floridagirl722!


August 16, 2012
"Hi Tom
As promised, please find a couple of pictures of the coyote you may use on your website. Thanks also for a great tour this morning.

Regards,
Petra
"

Thanks so much Petra! See one posted at right and the other at the FAQ. - Tom


July 28, 2012
"Tom,
We just wanted to say "Thanks a million!" We read many reviews about you and the tour you offer prior to arriving to San Francisco. We knew going into this tour we would not be disappointed. However, your tour exceeded our expectations!! You were so informative in every aspect of Muir Woods and the San Francisco area for that matter. In the 6 days we visited San Francisco, the tour we took with you was our most highlighted and favorite time. Tom, you are truly an authentic person and you are AWESOME at what you do!! I was thrilled to have spent part of my birthday with you touring/visiting this incredible and most majestic place.
Thank you again Tom!!

Sincerely,
Clay, Claudia and Matthew (Spring Hill, FL)
P.S. I plan on placing this review on Trip Advisor too."


Nov 3. 2011

"Dear Tom,
My husband Joe and I were on your tour of Muir Woods on Thursday, September 29th, and just want to thank you for an amazing experience. It was everything we had hoped it would be, thanks in no small part to your expert guidance and your obvious love and respect for the place. Of everything we did in San Francisco during our week there, Muir Woods was my personal favorite. I was particularly grateful for the moments of quiet you allowed us at different spots along the way.

... We did... really want to let you know what an enjoyable and profound experience our tour with you was. You do a wonderful job.

I have attached a photo of Joe and me at the "M" shaped tree, which the group encouraged us to have taken. (You predicted it would become our Christmas photo this year--maybe so!) Our photos, of course, don't do the place justice, although they are beautiful and help us re-live the experience.

Again, thanks for a wonderful experience, and know that we will recommend your tour to anyone we know who plans to visit San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Carol (and Joe)
"


October 21, 2011

"Hi Tom, we just wanted to thank you again for taking us on your tour last week and it was definitely one of the best San Francisco attractions that I've ever been on. After researching a lot of the Muir Woods tours available on the internet, I am so glad that we stuck to our decision of choosing your Muir Woods tour or none at all. From everything that I heard about these tours, and now that I've seen it first hand, you probably have the only legitimate Muir Woods experience in the city, and for that we are grateful. Thank you again for agreeing to take in our group and asking your wife to help out, she is really awesome as well. Until we meet again.
Sincerely,
Gain & Amanda, Calgary"


June 30, 2011

"Hi Tom

I've attached a few photos of the spotted owls we saw on our tour. While trying to get a quick photo without stressing them I forgot to adjust my camera settings for these shots so the quality isn't quite what I was hoping for. Regardless,it was a very enjoyable morning. After leaving the San Fran area we went to Yosemite then Sequoia & Kings canyon and your tour is still one of the top highlights of our trip! Thanks again.
John & Rosemary D."


"Pat and I just wanted to say thanks for a wonderful tour on March 16th 2011."

NB: Their photo with Tom, posed inside a giant Muir Woods Redwood tree appears at right.


Feb 1, 2011

"Tom,

I wanted to tell you what a wonderful time I had on your tour. I've done nature walks in many places around the world and it was nice to do one with someone so knowledgeable, personable and who truly enjoyed showing the woods to us. It was one of the best 75 dollars I've spent. Thanks, as well, for thinking of me with the gluten-free restriction. I got some amazing pictures and I can't wait to frame a few for my walls."


Kristen McAlear.
Houston, TX
.


January 8th, 2011

"Hi Tom, thanks for a great day out in the woods.
Here are a few photos for you to look at, hope our path's will cross again soon.

Rob and Louise."

Webmaster note - The other photo by Rob & Louise appears on our About page.


December 19, 2010

"Hi Tom!

Thanks for a wonderful tour. Glad we went even with the rain. We really had a great time and felt we would not have seen as much in the time we had were it not for (you) Tom.


Flora Tonthat
The Northey Street House Bed & Breakfast
30 Northey Street, Salem, MA"


Voted "Best B&B" Reader's Choice Award - 2010 North Shore Magazine


5 Star Review- YELP! - August 2010
"I visited San Francisco for a Harry Potter convention and a bunch of us nerds wanted to take a day trip somewhere cool. Muir woods was the best option. I did all the booking myself since we came from all over and half the group came from the UK. Tom Martell seemed like the best option because we wanted more than an hour and a huge guided tour didn't seem so fun.

Tom picked us up at our hotel. I believe there were 5 of us total. I thought it would be weird with awkward conversations, but Tom was very friendly and talkative and we never had an awkward silence at all! The drive to Muir Woods was pleasant, lovely fog. Closer to the destination we saw a few deer right next to the car and we pulled over and they weren't scared at all. Tom recognized the deer because she was with twin babies that had been born a few weeks back and were known to the Muir Woods folk. That's another thing... Tom knows everyone who works at the park pretty well. It's nice to know he's there so often and that he really knows everything there is to know about the woods!

The tour itself was fabulous. We walked and walked, and kept walking. Eventually the other tourists disappeared behind us. He likes to take you to a point on the path where the tourists give up and get lazy. Even went off the beaten track for a bit, which is awesome. He told us lots of stories and we all got along with him. He was pretty hilarious as well. I really wish I cold give more details about how awesome he is, but this was a year ago.

He also provided us with a tasty lunch of sandwiches, juice, and pastries. Let him know if there are any vegetarians in the group and he'll get something for everyone.

He then dropped us off in Sausalito. Anyway, he was freakin awesome and I highly recommend him to anyone who wants a tour of Muir Woods and doesn't have a car. It only cost around $75 a person, and was damn worth it with lunch and admission provided."
Elizabeth A.
Astoria NY


Sat, May 1, 2010

"We have finally arrived home after being stranded in the UK due to airport closures!"

Webmaster's Note: Jenny is referring to the Eyjafjallajokull volcanic eruption in Iceland that blanketed the UK in clouds of ash, closing airports for days in April 2010. A photo Jenny took while in the Muir Woods appears at right.

"Thanks again very much for the walk in Muir Woods, we really loved it and rainy is a nice way to see a forest :)

Best wishes,
Jenny Brown & Family
"


Sept. 11, 2009

"Dear Tom
I just wanted to say THANK YOU so much for the fascinating Muir Woods tour. It was simply magic and a definite highlight of my San Francisco trip. Your knowledge of the woodland... the gorgeous picnic, every aspect so thoughtfully considered. I will highly recommend you to any friends or family who visit the city.
Am sending a picture of us together!
Take Care!
Zahra"


Sunday July 5th, 2009

"Hi Tom,

Back home now in Australia but had to write and thank you again for the wonderful time we spent on your tour of the Muir Woods.
It was a privilege to walk in the early morning through the woods with the sun breaking through those magnificent trees. The deer and fawns were an added bonus. Thanks too, for taking us off the tourist track, onto the trail less travelled and for sharing your knowledge of the flora and fauna of the area; the history of the woods and the way they were a special place to the native people.
We also appreciated the lovely lunch you brought along for us.

Kind regards.
"
David & Rae
Emu Plains, Australia


5 Star Review - YELP! - June 2009
"
Don't waste your money on one of those bus tours you see advertised. You only get to spend about an hour in the woods, and only in the visitor center area. Some of these tours don't even include admission into the price. Tom Martell first starts by PICKING YOU UP AT YOUR HOTEL!!! He only has enough seats for 6 people so the tour is very small and personalized. He includes the tolls for the bridge and the admision into the park in his price. He is an expert of the flora and fauna tells you about the plants and wildlife on the way through the Muir woods. He takes you past the visitors area and gift shop(This is all you see on the bus tours) and onto the trails through the woods. Altogether id say we hiked a few miles and spent about 3 hours there. He also packs a lunch for everyone. The picnic was lovely! At the conclusion of the trip he drops you off in sausalito. From here you can take a ferry into the harbor( a few dollars per person). The boat ride give you a beautiful view of the city, the golden gate bridge, and Alcatraz.. For $75 a person you cant beat this tour of the Muir woods. This was the best thing we did while we were in San Francisco. Everyone on the tour quickly becomes good friends.( we met a nice couple from the UK and Australia when we went.)

finally ask Tom about restaurants while your on the tour. He know some of the best places in town to eat."
Joseph T
Fredericksburg, VA


Sat, 14 Mar 2009

"Hi Tom

Just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed the Muir Woods tour last Sunday, particularly your knowledgeable presentation. It was great being there before the crowds started arriving. We enjoyed Sausalito too, especially some of the gift shops and the ferry ride back.

Best wishes
"
Leland & Joan


Thu, 27 Nov 2008

"Dear Tom,

Myself and Anne wanted to thank you for our chance to take the walk with you this past Saturday morning when you'd swung by The Palace and we then picked up another couple (Dan and Debbie) at their hotel further in town. From start to finish - and that would include that excellent sandwich and other treats you brought for our picnic - it was a perfect experience and we can't thank you enough for the way it all went and for our chance to enjoy it so well.

It was fun too talking about other points political and literary such as Alan Watts during the lunch and our drives and it all added to the San Francisco I'd hoped we could see and now fondly remember...

... [Here's] to your enjoying a wonderful Thanksgiving, to your providing for many more young & old to enjoy the forest and Park & in thanks again for making our time one of the best parts of our vacation"

Peter & Anne


Sun, 16 Nov 2008

"Tom

I had a really great day yesterday - thank you. The Muir Woods are undoubtedly impressive, but your knowledge of them and your pleasant personality made an impressive sight come to life.

I enjoyed the company of the others but that is pot luck so your private trip with the hotel pick up made it so easy to get that ideal early start. Incidentally, I rechecked and (your competitor's) price is $127 - so your tour to Muir Woods is the ideal destination for one who found Fisherman's Wharf too touristy. I learnt a lot on your tour and got to parts of the woods that others might not reach - so thanks again.

I don't know if or when I shall get back to San Francisco - I hope so. If I do I shall certainly return to enjoy the woods again, and will of course recommend you to any others that I hear are visiting the area.

Good luck on your travels.
With kind regards"
Nick


Sun, 11 May 2008

"HI Tom

Just wanted to thanks you for the wonderful tour on May 5th. My sister and I had a wonderful time. I had been warned that guides at Muir Woods were a little uptight and just concerned about people staying on the path. but thanks to you, we left feeling like we had really experienced the woods."
Lorie B


March 25, 2008

"Just wanted to thank you for a wonderful, informative tour- the kids are still talking about it! They especially liked seeing the Redwoods, Great Western Salamanders and the California Buckeye tree. The first thing they mentioned when we got there was what a wonderful smell the woods had. We all enjoyed the personal touch of learning about the plants and animals and trying some Muir Woods salad! This trip will live on in their memories as a highlight with their Aunt Peggy. A special thanks and big hug for making their first trip to San Francisco and Muir Woods a memorable one,"
- Peggy L


Wed, 29 Aug 2007

"I can't begin to tell you how much we enjoyed our tour of Muir Woods in July. We were so fortunate to have you as our guide to help us understand and appreciate the wonder and beauty of such a beautiful place. It was so nice to have the woods to ourselves (!!!) and to enjoy the picnic lunch you provided. That morning was one of the highlights of our anniversary trip to San Francisco and we have told several people in Atlanta to contact you when coming to San Francisco. Also, thanks for returning my camera to the Fairmont!"
Sincerely, Patty and Howard. Atlanta, Georgia


March 29th, 2007

"Hello Tom!
Wanted to drop a few lines letting you know how much we enjoyed our time and tour on March15th . We also put a recommendation for your tour in our survey report for Expedia under the Sir Francis Drake feedback panel. ...here we are back in Virginia after enjoying 10 days celebrating our 12th anniversary in Cali and looking forward to another trip out there next year to cover what we did not get to see.
Thank you for being a part of our very enjoyed holiday !!"
Peace,
- Jim & Kevin - Virginia


March 15, 2007

"We found the website comforting, informative and straightforward and not laden with tricky fluff and the tour was exactly as advertised."
- San Antonio Couple


Feb 27th. 2007

"Hi Tom,

Here are the pictures I said I would send to you from our walk in the woods. Great shots of the sun behind the trees. I hope you enjoy them... Thnaks for a great day in the woods. We enjoyed Sausalito too.

Karen Force


"Dear Tom,
Thank you for the wonderful tour you gave us of Muir Woods on February 25, 2006. Debbie and I appreciated your knowledge of the park, your patient and thorough explanations, and your courtesy. We have already referred you to a family who's visiting SF this summer. We send our best regards from the East Coast, which is beginning to blossom with choruses of birds and Spring flowers.
Cordially,"

Rick F and Debbie B


You've read all of these reviews about Tom's famed Muir Woods Walking Tour, dating back nearly a decade, and your still not sure? Suffice it to say that before internet reviews were a thing, Tom was getting hand written thank you notes. He's been doing the tour for so long he even got phone calls thanking him back when long distance was REALLY costly. Seriously, Tom is your guy. The other tours are not tours at all, they just drop you off and you never get to see the cool spots in the woods or hear Tom talk about fascinating history, politics and lore.

More accolades...

 
 

 

Reviews and accolades for Tom's tours have been spreading across the web for years. Such kind words really touch Tom. This page contains a couple dozen that Tom has received over the years.

Tom's Muir Woods Tour is reviewed at Yelp!, and on Google Places pages and of course, Trip Advisor among others...

 

Posing with very old Redwood Trees
imagine standing right inside a tree. This one's a giant.

Photo by Liesel Bennett

 

Picnic among Muir Woods Redwood Trees
Tom setting out "snacks." There's something special about a picnic in the forest.

Photo by Liesel Bennett

 

Muir Woods Trees
Here's a photo of the man himself. Tom.
Someone clearly finds him picture-worthy.

Photo by Liesel Bennett

 

Posing with very old Redwood Trees
Rosanne & Michelle shared this photo of their tour with Tom.
(Tom's almost as old as those trees you know!)

 

Picnic among Muir Woods Redwood Trees
On June 22, 2013 Fred S of Broward County, Florida shared this photo and had this to say about Tom's Muir Woods Tour:
"Thanks for a great experience. You are a great resource."

 

Muir Woods Trees
Tom posing with visitor Zahra who wrote a lovely note. Tom is always touched when he gets notes from his Muir Woods visitors.

 

Tom's great picnic spread!
Visitor Kay R. took this great photo of the Picnic that Tom sets out for lunch during the tour.

 

This is a must-see tree
Pictured are visitors Kay and Allen R. standing inside the burned out trunk of a magnificent and still thriving Redwood.

 

Lumber-ing Giants
Kay and Allen R. shared a wealth of images with us. Walking between these giants is a humbling experience.

 

Muir Woods Trees
Visitor Petra took this breathtaking photo of a bashful coyote while on our tour. Another photo of hers appears in the FAQ
- Thanks Petra!

 

Muir Woods Trees
Spotted by John & Rosemary D., who were kind enough to send in this photo, Spotted Owls do get, well, spotted. We can't make any promises but yes, we do see these owls from time to time.

 

the trunks of the redwoods seem to extend up forever
A male otter showing off for the camera
- Photo by Sara Runesten.

 

Muir Woods Trees
Visitor Kristen McAlear from Texas wrote in to say she had a wonderful time and sent us this beautiful photo.

 


Carol sent this photo of her & Joe posing at the giant M shaped redwood trees.

 


Flora sent this photo in of sheltering from the rain in a giant redwood tree - Thanks Flora!

 


Robert Guest sent us this great photo and the excellent one of a giant redwood tree on the "About the Tour" page - Thanks Rob & Louise!

 

Mark Gilchrist Photography - websavvyit.com
Pat and I just wanted to say thanks for a wonderful tour on March 16th 2011.

 

Mark Gilchrist Photography - websavvyit.com
...and don't dawdle when Tom's on the move! (Just kidding)

 

Mark Gilchrist Photography - websavvyit.com
Thanks again very much for the walk in Muir Woods, we really loved it and rainy is a nice way to see a forest :)

Best wishes,
Jenny Brown & Family

 

Mark Gilchrist Photography - websavvyit.com
Spotted Owl seen on Tom's Tour - Photo by visitor Jenny Brown

 

Mark Gilchrist Photography - websavvyit.com
Salmon still spawn here but their numbers are dwindling - Photo by Mark Gilchrist

 

Sun streaming through the redwoods at Muirwoods National Monument
Sun slanting through the trees in the early morn - Photo by Karen Force.

 

Karen Force & friend stand right Inside a giant Redwood tree in Muir Woods forest
... And here's Karen posing right insode a Redwood tree in the Muir Woods forest.

 

Tom Martell Supplies a very tasty picnic lunch with his walking tour of Muir Woods
Tom's picnic lunch as photographed by nemo500 from Christchurch, New Zealand
- We borrowed it from their Trip Advisor review.

 

Tom puts out a pretty decent picnic
Tom sets out a pretty tasty picnic! We had drinks and ham & brie on baguette... for free, included!
- Photo by Mark Gilchrist.

 


Lewis (LGF) got Tom to take this great shot on her iPhone! August 2008.

 


Elizabeth A. gave Tom five out of five Stars at Yelp! for a great tour. Now Tom's blushing.

 


You can watch a brief video of a sample day in the muir woods...

Webmaster's Note:

Hi folks, it's Tom's webmaster here.
There used to be dozens and dozens of Google reviews for Tom's Muir Woods Tour. Tom used to Avg 4.5/5 Stars. Google changed it's rating system to fall in line with Zagat's something-out-of-30 ratings. Why? Because Google bought Zagat. Yup, fact. Tom's Tour averaged 26 out of 30 Zagats. But with typical poor implementation, Google was forced to withdraw the format and went to a something-out-of-three scheme which was quietly dropped in favor of the obvious, something-out-of-5.

Then suddenly, one day, all of Tom's well earned, decade's-worth of reviews suddenly vanished. Google said they knew what happened and would restore the reviews but at the time of writing, they have not been true to their word.So don't be confused, Tom's still the original and the best and everybody still really loves him.

A word about testimonials & reviews...

All of the reviews and testimonials on this site, for Tom Martell's Muir Woods Tours are 100% authentic and have been voluntarily sent to Tom via email. We have a record of every emailed letter of thanks Tom has received. (Well I do, Tom's about as computer savvy as certain US Senators.)

My point is; Yes, Tom is the real deal.

But sadly, the same cannot be said for all of the internet. In fact, a frightening number of reviews and ratings websites are plugged with bogus reviews.

To learn more, see this Time Magazine article HERE.

Some people were confusingTom's Google Places Page for the Official Muir Woods National Monument (NPS) page and people who visited the park independantly are sometimes leaving reviews on Tom's Google Places page when in fact, they really intended the review to be of the park itself. These reviews belong at the NPS Places page. Some of these reviews mention crowds and parking and increased fees... All things you won't have to worry about when you book a tour with Tom

For some reason, Google gave Tom's original Places page and all his reviews to the Muir Woods Visitor Center. Tom's NEW Google Places Page is here.

Fun Fact:
The Muir Woods were featured in the motion picture, Rise of the Planet of the Apes, (2011) but don't worry, there won't be anyone swinging from the trees when you get there... except maybe Tom!


Did you see The Rise of the Planet of the Apes?

But seriously we hope you've read enough to know, Tom's Tour is the way to go!

CPUC# 34752 - expires 01-05-2018

 
 
. sitemap        
Site by MGW3.COM